"Datavengers" winning Data Science Hackathon

First international data science hackathon organized by Covestro

Time for another success story: Three of our outstanding students – together with three students from RWTH Aachen University – have won the first international data science hackathon organized by Covestro!

Author: RWTH Business School
Published: 14.11.2019

In November, 90 students from three leading universities on three different continents competed simultaneously for three days to solve questions from the supply chain and production of the chemical industry. After being selected as the regional winner our students and their team “Datavengers” were invited – together with the winning teams from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh and Tongji University in Shanghai – to pitch their solution at the “Chemalytix”, the first conference for data science in chemistry, organized by Covestro, Bayer and Evonik. Their model for an improved production process based on machine learning convinced the audience of leading experts from established companies, start-ups and universities and so they finally received the global winner’s award in Leverkusen.

To see this content, please accept the following option in the settings. youtube

Cookie settings

“The students developed novel answers using different methods of machine learning. They demonstrated that data and its proper use can make the whole industry smarter and faster,” explained Nils Janus, Head of Advanced Data Analytics at Covestro. “We are demonstrating that the chemical industry can be an exciting employer for smart data scientists.”

The hackathon as well as the conference were great opportunities for our students to gain practical insights and to get to know another exciting industry: “This was an amazing experience and we learned a lot. The modules taught in our courses really helped us to achieve this result,” DDS student Luckshan explained afterwards.

To see this content, please accept the following option in the settings. youtube

Cookie settings

Congratulations to our winners!

Congratulations to Luckshan Sivakumar (DDS), Nikhil Kulkarni (DDS), Imanol Bidegain (MME TIME), Sonja Ginter (Computer Science RWTH Aachen), Xuefeng Yin (Computer Science RWTH Aachen) and Ruihua Hu (Computer Science RWTH Aachen) – keep it up!

© Images and videos by Covestro.

RWTH Business School